About Us

Main topics of interest:

– Basic phenomena and pathway of the formation of composite thin films.
– Engineering and characterization of nanocomposite thin films and CNx structures.
– Application of basic knowledge in nano-engineering of wear-resistant and self-lubricating coatings.
– Wide-band semiconductors (GaN, AlN, SiC).
– Interaction of fast (0.1 – 10 keV) ions with material and its application in developing instruments and methods for TEM sample preparation, in-depth chemical analysis and nano-processing.
– Quantitative phase analysis and structure refinement based on electron diffraction from nano-powders in the TEM.



– Supervising PhD students and visiting students from abroad.
– Special courses to graduate students (ELTE, BME).
– Organizing national and international Schools and Conferences.
International Cooperation:
– Aristotle University, Institute of Physics, Thessaloniki
– Charles University, Praha
– Forschungszentrum Jülich Gmbh, Institut für Festkörperforschung, Institut 10: Mikrostrukturforschung, Jülich
– Electron Microscopy for Materials Science, RUCA, University of Antwerp
– Philipps Universität, Physikalishes Institute Marburg
– Cryodetector Group of the Max Planck Institute for Physics (Werner Heisenberg Institute), Munich
– Friedrich Schiller Universität, Institute für Festkörperphysik, Jena
– Technische Universität Wien, Institut für Angewandte und Technische Physik, Wien
– Linköping University, Institute of Physics, Thin Film Group, Linköping
– Linköping University, Materials Science Division, Linköping
– Helsinki University of Technology, Laboratory of Processing and Heat treatment of Materials, Espoo
– University of Electrocommunications, Department of Applied Physics and Chemistry, Tokyo
– York University, Electronics Department, York
– L2MP, Paul Cézanne University, Marseille
– CNRS Unité No UPR0011, Laboratoire d’etudes de Proprietes de Solides, Grenoble
– Thomson-CSF, Orsay, France
– CRHEA, CNRS, Valbonne, France
– LUMILOG, Vallauris, France
– Grup de Física de Materials I, Dept. Física, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
– Institute of Metallurgy, Krakow
– Institute of Physics, Slovac Academy of Sciences, Bratislava
– Institute of Electrical Engineering, Slovac Academy of Sciences, Bratislava
– National Institute of Materials Physics, Bucharest
– Institute of General and Inorganic Chemistry, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Sofia
– Central Laboratory of Solar Energy and New Energy Sources at the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Sofia, Bulgaria
– Uzhgorod State University, Uzhgorod
– Institute of Semiconductor Physics, Siberian Branch, Russian Academy of Sciences, Novosibirsk, Russia
– Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne, Helvetia
– Sapientia Hungarian University of Transylvania, Faculty of Technical and Human Sciences, Târgu-Mures, Romania
– Sheffield Hallam University, Materials and Engineering Institute, Sheffield
– Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe, Institute of Materials Research I
– Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen Technische Universität Wien
– Institute of Materials Science and Technology, Vienna